Unsigned Australian Artists Now Eligible for Amrap’s AirIT - MusicNSW

The Australian Music Radio Airplay Project (AMRAP) today announced stage two of its AirIT initiative at the Adelaide Fuse Festival. AirIT is community radio’s exclusive catalogue of Australian music, provided free by Amrap for both the sector and the music industry.

The stage two roll out gives all unsigned Australian artists eligibility to apply for AirIT. Up until now the majority of artists using AirIT were signed to major and independent record labels. AirIT’s core activity is promotion and distribution of Australian music to community radio. By engaging AirIT to enhance an artist’s community radio servicing, the average artist receives $700 worth of free promotion and distribution.

The Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Senator Stephen Conroy congratulated the project on its achievements to date. “AirIT is not only a valuable resource for community broadcasters, it will now also assist with professional development and promotion for all Australian musicians, both established and emerging,” Senator Conroy said.

Since the launch of the project late last year, over 5000 orders of Australian music have been delivered to community radio and more than 100 community radio stations use the service to access new release Australian music for airplay. Over 60 major and independent Australian record labels use AirIT to service community radio.

This initiative will see an average of forty unsigned Australian artists added to AirIT per month. Unsigned artists will appear alongside established Australian acts including Lisa Mitchell, John Butler Trio, Jimmy Barnes, British India, Urthboy, The Temper Trap and many more. This will greatly increase their chances of national exposure and airplay.

Unsigned artists can apply now at www.amrap.org

Amrap is a not-for-profit music project funded by the Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy through the Community Broadcasting Foundation and is managed by the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia.