The AMP Awards announce new judging system & panel - MusicNSW

With already over 60 entries filed online, The Australian Music Prize (The Amp 2007) has commenced its judging process to determine which album will receive this coveted accolade. For this forthcoming Amp (its third), the judging system has been significantly re-modelled to allow a smaller group of judges to engage as an interactive panel. As a result of this judging restructure, the previous panel of 77 judges for The Amp 2006 has now been reduced to a much smaller group of 22 with members including established music artists, media and music retailers. Eligible musicians from around Australia have until November 30th to submit their music to be in the running for the coveted $25,000 cash prize (as donated by PPCA).

Scott Murphy, Prize Director of The Amp 2007 says:
“The judging process is of the utmost importance to the long term existence of The Australian Music Prize and during these early formative years, were constantly improving such. Once again, Ive borrowed from the experience of our UK friends – the Mercury Music Prize – whom I recently visited. In essence, the system has changed from one of 77 very much individual efforts to a system of ‘group discussion.”

The 22 judges of The Amp 2007 are:

John Course (DJ), Dan Bessant (Nova 969), Chris Berkeley (Red Eye Records), Dave Faulkner, Robbie Buck (Triple J), Tom Beaumont (Rocking Horse Records), Tim Freedman, Simon Collins (The West Australian), Mike Glynn (JB Hi Fi), Renee Geyer, Patrick Donovan (The Age), Martin Whybrow (Leading Edge),Rob Hirst, Nic Harcourt (KCRW), Joel Ma, Chris Johnston (The Age), Kevin Mitchell, Andrew Mast (Street Press Australia), Darren Seltmann, Kathy McCabe (Sydney Daily Telegraph), Noel Mengel (Brisbane Courier Mail), Bernard Zuel (Sydney Morning Herald)

21 of the above judges were also a judge for The Amp 2006 and many also for The Amp 2005. Kevin Mitchell (also known as Bob Evans) is the only new judge and his appointment is in line with a continuing policy to invite select previous Winners and Short Listed artists to judge.