Australian Music Prize shortlist Announced - MusicNSW

A few weeks ago the Australian Music Prize (AMP) announced it’s first short list artist; NSW based and one of Australia’s biggest hip hop act – Urthboy. At the St Kilda Festival on February 14, Urthboy and the AMP organisers announced the rest with a majority of NSW based artists following suit:

‘As Day Follows Night’ Sarah Blasko
‘Secrets & Lies’ Bertie Blackman
‘For The Birds’ The Mess Hall
‘Wonder’ Lisa Mitchell
‘Call Signs’ Black Cab
‘Black Across the Field’ Lucie Thorne
‘Kid Sam LP’ Kid Sam
‘Privileged Woes’ Oh Mercy
and ‘Spitshine’ Urthboy

One of these artists will go on to be the winner of The Amp’s prestigious $30,000 cash prize courtesy of PPCA. The winner will also receive $30,000 worth of media on Channel [V] and MAX. Channel [V] is also producing a 30min program showcasing this year’s Shortlisted artists. Furthermore, all of these artists are now eligible to be the winner of the $15,000 Red Bull Award In Recognition of Outstanding Potential.

The Amp 2009 Winners Event is booked in at The Sydney Museum of Contemporary Art, on Friday March 12 where one of the 9 Shortlisted artists will win the $30,000 prize courtesy of PPCA.

For more on the award check out