Participants Announced for CONTROL 2010 - MusicNSW

Successful applicants for CONTROL: The Business of Music Management, the new program designed to equip Australian music managers with strategic business skills, were announced today.

Fifteen music managers have been selected for the program; six from New South Wales, four from Victoria and the remaining five from around the country. The NSW contingent includes Megan Horan, Neil Hunt, Melanie Lake, Chelsea Sinnott, Jerry Soer and Julia Wilson. Joining them from Victoria will be Natalie Bell, Catherine Haridy, Annmarie McMath and Brendan O’Keefe. Queensland will be represented by Wendy Avilov, Leanne de Souza, and Stuart McCullough. The remaining two places in the program will be taken by Peter Bayliss (ACT), and Brad Wesson (WA).

“It’s great to see CONTROL reflecting the changes going on in the music business. Women are playing a greater role in shaping the industry than ever before, as are music managers,” said Paul Bodlovich, Chair of the Australian Music Industry Network (AMIN). “We’re looking forward to working with this year’s participants. The pilot program in 2008 exceeded everyone’s expectations. It really helped managers take their businesses to the next level.”

CONTROL will feature respected local and international music managers and business specialists. Mentors in the program will include leading UK based music manager Keith Harris (Stevie Wonder) and Australian based managers Michael McMartin (Hoodoo Gurus) and Keith Welsh (Boom Crash Opera, rooArt, Rough Cut, The Music Network).

CONTROL incorporates two residential workshops:
The first will be held in Terrigal near Sydney from 14-17 November 2010, the second at the end of the program in August 2011. Music industry advocate and lawyer Shane Simpson will moderate the Terrigal workshop, which marks the start of the five stage program.

The program is presented by the Australian Music Industry Network, and supported by the Association of Artist Managers. Funding for this initiative has been provided by the Australian Government. AMIN is supported by the Australia Council for the Arts.