International Songwriting Competition (ISC) Announces 2010 Finalists and Semi-finalists - MusicNSW

The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is proud to announce the 2010 finalists and semi-finalists.

Renowned as one of the most prestigious songwriting competitions in the world, ISC this year received well over 15,000 entries from 115 countries throughout the world, representing all genres of contemporary music. Winners will be selected by ISC judges Peter Gabriel, Tom Waits, Rihanna, Ben Harper, Kings of Leon, Jeff Beck, Ben Folds, Train, and many more (see complete list below).

Winners will be announced by early May, 2011. Prizes include over $150,000 in cash, merchandise, and services – including a Grand Prize of $25,000 cash and $20,000 in additional prizes.

ISC 2010 was the most competitive of any year in terms of quality of entries. ISC received so many outstanding songs that reflected creativity, diversity, and excellent songwriting craftsmanship, and as a result, it was the most difficult year to select the finalists. Many of these outstanding songs came from Australian songwriters and artists.

“It seems that Australian songwriters have ‘adopted’ us as their songwriting competition of choice, and we are thrilled,” says Founder and Director Candace Avery. “This year, we received more Australian entries and have more Australian finalists than from any other country next to the USA. Out of 327 Finalists, 62 hail from Australia. This recognition will not only shine the spotlight on these talented artists but will also show the world what a truly wonderful music scene exists in Australia. We are looking forward to see who our celebrity judges select as winners.”

The most significant achievement comes from award-winning Aussie artist Kasey Chambers who has seven songs selected as finalists in various categories. This is the first time any artist has ever received so many finalist nods in ISC. This much-deserved acknowledgment from ISC is yet another homage to Kasey’s glittering career that has culminated in multiple ARIA, APRA, and CMAA awards as well as multiple top-selling albums, establishing her as one of the most respected and successful Aussie artists.

Additional notable Australian finalists include:

  • Basement Birds (the Aussie supergroup comprised of Kav Temperley, Kevin Mitchell, Josh Pyke, and Steve Parkin)
  • Children Collide
  • Dutch Tilders
  • Glenn Richards (Augie March)
  • Gyroscope
  • Inland Sea
  • Jonah’s Road
  • Marc Collis
  • Oh Mercy
  • Paris Wells
  • Paul Dempsey (Something For Kate)
  • Sparkadia
  • Skipping Girl Vinegar
  • Stone Parade
  • The Chemist
  • The Honey Month
  • Tripod
  • Washington
  • and many more.

Go to winners to see the complete list.