Minister for the Arts announces GENERATE Finalists - MusicNSW

The Federal Minister for the Arts, the Hon. Simon Crean MP has announced today the 15 music industry entrepreneur finalists in the GENERATE program, an innovative initiative of the Australian Government and Australian music industry.

GENERATE is a music investment program that aims to invest up to $30, 000 into 15 original and innovative business models within the current Australian music market. Besides the financial investment, the program also provides business development knowledge, skills and expert mentoring support to each of the businesses who have made it this far. (And well-deserving they are too!)

The final decision on investment amounts for each applicant will be officially announced in May.

The program was initiated by the Australian government when they injected funding to the Creative Industries Innovation Centre (CIIC) who have partnered with the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA|AMCOS)
in order to implement the GENERATE program. The program is also supported by the Australian Music Industry Network (AMIN).

Mr Crean paid a visit to the APRA|AMCOS Sydney offices today. Mr Crean said, “This investment by the Australian Government is a new model of cultural support based on building the capability of the next generation of songwriters, composers, bands, music managers and publishers – and I want to thank everyone involved for making it such a success.”

Creative Industries Innovation Centre Director Lisa Colley said, “GENERATE demonstrates the importance for creative enterprises to understand the business of creativity by honing business models and understanding their market. The CIIC is pleased to have supported 139 businesses nationally through GENERATE to gain greater business skills and congratulate the 15 finalists.”

The MusicNSW team would like to congratulate the following 15 incredible GENERATE finalists:

Stephen Green – SGC Media • Fred (Feleti) Leone – Impossible Odds Records Rosco Stewart – Synch My Track Julia Wilson – Rice is Nice Tim Byrne – KISS FM Ajax McKerral – Nuttify Jen Cloher – I Manage My Music Nick Wallberg – Tram Sessions Inc Tom Armstrong – Infusion Claire Collins – Bossy Music Craig May – Create Control Glenn Dickie – Stage Mothers Jai Al-Attas – ZAPPP Larry Heath – AU Review Marshall Cullen – Soundslikecafe

For more information head here.