The Seed Fund 2012 Announce Successful Applicants - MusicNSW

The Seed Fund 2012, a grant initiative that aims to help emerging musicians, artists and art workers over three grant categories and five strategic initiatives has announced it’s successful applicants for funding in 2012.

Publicise It

The Seed Fund aims to fund managers (including self-managed artists) to contract a publicist for a promotional campaign up to the value of $5000. The campaign must be in support of a new Australian release (EP or Album only) or a campaign involving an Australian release and associated tour.

Congratulations to following successful applicants:

EMMA LOUISE: The Seed will contribute $5000 to publicise the release of her debut album & subsequent national tour – early 2013. Emma’s manager Rick Chazan attended the Management Workshop in 2011.

NGAIIRE: The Seed will contribute $5000 to publicise the release Ngaiire’s debut album & subsequent national tour – early 2013. Ngaiire attended the Management Workshop in 2009

TINPAN ORANGE The Seed will contribute $5000 to publicise the release of Tinpan Orange’s third album ‘Over The Sun’ & subsequent national tour – late 2012. Jesse Lubitz attended the Management Workshop in 2008.

Bigsound 2012

The Seed will provide complimentary BIGSOUND conference registration to managers (the year following their attendance at the Management Workshop) to support their networking and continued learning. This year The Seed will send: Bridget Turner (Boys, Boys, Boys!, Simone Girlfunkle), Cesar Rodriguez (Texture Like Sun, Pip Norman aka Countbounce, Axolotl), Karinda Mutabazi (Roscoe James Irwin) and Nick Lynagh (Numbers Radio, Them Swoops)

Management Workshop

A workshop that aims to provide practical strategies to manage artists in the establishment of their careers. It aims to aid people in forging pathways into the music industry. Applications were accepted from managers, self managed solo musicians or band members who are managing their own band.

Congratulations to the following 24 successful applicants:

Ainslie Wills // VIC (self-managed)
Anthony Zaccaria // Loon Lake, Parachute Youth, Trumpdisco and Airwolf. NSW (manager)
Daniel Dow // Impossible Odds, Classik Nawu and Georgia Corowa. QLD (manager)
Ellen Kirk // 8 Bit Love VIC (manager)
Francis Harrison // The Resignators. VIC (manager)
Hannah Fox // Clairy Browne & the Bangin’ Rackettes. VIC (manager)
Jess Fairfax // Madre Monte. VIC (manager)
Jess Harlen // QLD (self-managed)
Josh McAuliffe // Bastian’s Happy Flight. WA (manager)
Matt Blanchard // Oliver Tank and Guerre. NSW (manager)
Matthew Kennedy // Wagons, Leader Cheetah, Little Scout, The Guppies and Little Bastard. NSW (manager)
Meesha Astill // Rainy Day Women and Warning Birds. WA (manager)
Mike Solo // sleepmakeswaves, Pirate, The Red Paintings and super FLORENCE jam. NSW (manager)
Monique Rothstein // Panama, KIDS AT RISK and Convaire. NSW (manager)
Nadeena Dixon // NSW (self-managed)
Owen James Newcomb // Band of Frequencies and Afro Dizzi Act. QLD (self-managed)
Sam Hussey // Joelistics, Evil Eddie and Tourism. QLD (manager)
Sam Dutch // Sky’High, Chasm, Dialectrix, Dr Don Don and Kween G. NSW (manager)
Scott Mellis // QLD (self-managed)
Scott Mesiti // Floating Me, The Cairos and Over-Reactor. NSW (manager)
Stefan Emslie // Art of Sleeping. QLD (manager)
Tim Baker // The Mountains and DRIFFS. NSW (manager)
Tom Spender // VIC (self-managed)
Tristan Ludowyk // The Public Opinion Afro Orchestra. VIC (self-managed)

To find out more information about the other successful applicants in the The Seed Fund’s 2012 initiatives, head here.