2012 CBAA Award Finalists Announced - MusicNSW

The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia (CBAA) has officially announced the finalists for the 2012 CBAA Awards (commonly referred to as The ‘Voxies’).

The CBAA Awards acknowledge the achievements of community radio stations and their programs, initiatives and practices , in an effort to promote excellence and encourage community broadcasters.

Keep reading to find out the full list of 2012 Voxie finalists! We’ll keep you posted on who takes home to glass trophies, which will be revealed in the CBAA Gala Dinner on November 17 in Melbourne, as part of the three-day 2012 CBAA Conference, which you can read all about by heading here.

1. Excellence in Community Participation

Bangers and Thrash Mitchell Community Radio
Community Participation Nambucca Valley Radio 2NVR
RIBS – Remote Indigenous Broadcasting Service CAAMA 8KIN FM

2. Outstanding Volunteer Contribution

Max Benyon Fine Music 102.5
Ian ‘Greenie’ Green Great Lakes FM
Michael Smith 3CR
Rebekah Lowe 5THE FM

3. Best Digital Media Initiative

JOY Eurovision Project JOY 94.9
Radio On Demand 3RRR
Project U Coast FM 96.3
Primary Perspectives 3WBC

4. Excellence in Training

SYN TV and Screen Inductions SYN
4EB Broadcast & New Member Induction Session Radio 4EBFM
3ZZZ Broadcaster Training 3ZZZ
Brainwaves 3CR

5. Best New Radio Program – Talks

RTRFM’s Youth News Project RTR FM
Streetcast Radio Adelaide
Primary Perspectives 3WBC
On the Money 2ser

6. Best New Radio Program – Music

Ears Have Ears 2FBi
Soundscapes TYGA FM
Drive Live PBS FM
Straight to You PBS FM

7. Contribution to Australian Music

Project U Coast FM 96.3
Drive Live PBS FM
Sunday Wash Up 4BAY FM
Radio Adelaide Radio Adelaide

8. Contribution to Indigenous Broadcasting

4th Anniversary of Apology to Stolen Generation Phoenix FM
Cardi Cardi TYGA FM

9. Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting

Viva Italia North West FM
Next Generation Media SYN
Radio 4EBFM – Brisbane Radio 4EBFM
Let’s Talk Health 2NBC FM

10. Excellence in Music Programming

Off the Record 3RRR
The Doo Wop Corner Three D Radio
The Sound Barrier PBS FM
Sideways Through Sound 2ser

11. Excellence in Spoken Word, News and Current Affairs Programming

Panorama SYN
Talking Vision Vision Australia Radio (3RPH)
The Wire 2ser, 4EB & Radio Adelaide
All The Best 2FBi

12. Outstanding Youth Contribution

Georgia Moodie SYN
Project U Coast FM 96.3
Miani Mischon 3WBC
Primary Perspectives 3WBC

13. Best Station Production

4EB Station Promo Radio 4EBFM
The Eastside Production Sound 2RES Eastside Radio
Sunset Program Intros 2FBi
Women’s Business 2012 Intro CAAMA 8KIN FM

14. Best Station Promotion, Sponsorship or Fundraising Campaign

Fresh 92.7 Birthday Blowout Fresh 92.7
Transmission Ignition 4ZZZ
2ser University Engagement 2ser
Random Acts of Kindness 89.9 LightFM

15. Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming

Football 2012 3WAY FM
Sports Of All Sorts North West FM
Sunday Sports Wrap 2NBC
CAAMA Sports Programming CAAMA 8KIN FM

16. Most Innovative Outside Broadcast or Special Event Broadcast

The World Rally Outside Broadcast Nambucca Valley Radio 2NVR
JOY and 3AW – Better Together Broadcast JOY 94.9
Womadelaide Live! Radio Adelaide
Aboriginal Tent Embassy 40th Anniversary 3CR

17. The Outstanding Small Station Award

Mitchell Community Radio Kilmore, VIC
Northside Radio Chatswood, NSW
TYGA FM Derwent Valley, TAS
5THE FM Millicent, SA

18. Excellence in Technical / IT Services

Digital Clocks Project JOY 94.9
Technical Services Team 2NBC
Greg Segal 3CR
Raymond Volpatti 2RRR