The 8th AMP Award Shortlist Revealed - MusicNSW

THE AMPS have announced their shortlisted artists for the 8th Australian Music Prize Awards. The AMP awards recognise Australian artists who have produced high quality albums with outstanding creativity.

Artists from across the country were invited to submit their full length albums which was then judged by a panel of artists. media and industry. In 2012 they received 300 Australian album submissions, which was then whittled down to 71 official entrants.

The judges of this year’s AMP include Chris Berkley (Red Eye Records), Deborah Conway, Dave Faulkner (Hoodoo Gurus), Tim Freedman, Mike Glynn (JB Hi-Fi), Chris Johnston (The Age), Sam Lockwood (The Jezabels), Shannon Logan (Jet Black Cat Music), Christopher Powell (Blackwood Sound) and Bernard Zuel (The SMH).

Officially revealed at a live music event held at Melbourne’s Federation Square this week, the AMP shortlisted artists are:

Flume – Flume
Tame Impala – Lonerism
The Presets – Pacifica
Grand Salvo – Slay Me in My Sleep
Jess Ribeirio & The Bone Collectors – My Little River
Liz Stringer – Warm in the Darkness
Daily Meds – Happy Daze
Hermitude – Hyper-Paradise
Urthboy – Smokey’s Haunt
Fore more information on The AMPs head here.