APRA Professional Development Award Winners Announced - MusicNSW

Eight talented Australian musicians have been awarded the APRA Professional Development Award (PDAs), each receiving $30,000 worth of prizes, including $12,000 of APRA-fronted cash.

These final eight artists were selected out of 2,000 entrants, judged by 38 judges including American singer-songerwriter Jason Mraz and Australia’s Josh Pyke.

“The high caliber of artists entering the PDAs (Professional Development Awards) this year has been incredible across all genres,” said APRA|AMCOS CEO Brett Cottle. “It’s great to know that through the PDAs we are able to harness and support such a high level of musicianship, creative talent and artistic creativity in this country,” he said.

“I am very confident our winners this year will go on to do great things for the Australian music scene, both at home and abroad,” Mr Cottle said.

The winners are:

•    THOMAS CALDER (Popular Contemporary)
•    MORGAN EVANS (Country)
•    LEAH FLANAGAN (Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander)
•    ALEXANDER GARSDEN (Classical)
•    HUSKY GAWENDA (Popular Contemporary)
•    GEORGI KAY (Popular Contemporary)
•    JOE TWIST (Film & Television)

For more info head here.