Hermitude take out the The 8th Annual AMP - MusicNSW

Sydney hip hop duo Hermitude has taken out the 8th Australian Music Prize Award, winning a $30, 000 cash prize courtesy of the PPCA.

The AMP award recognises Australian artists who have produced high quality albums with outstanding creativity.

Hermitude have been releasing music for the past two decades, and their most recent album release HyperParadise was shortlisted amongst other artists such as Flume, Tame Impala and The Presets.

Artists from across the country were invited to submit their full length albums which was then judged by a panel of artists. media and industry. In 2012 they received 300 Australian album submissions, which was then whittled down to 71 official entrants.

The judges of this year’s AMP include Chris Berkley (Red Eye Records), Deborah Conway, Dave Faulkner (Hoodoo Gurus), Tim Freedman, Mike Glynn (JB Hi-Fi), Chris Johnston (The Age), Sam Lockwood (The Jezabels), Shannon Logan (Jet Black Cat Music), Christopher Powell (Blackwood Sound) and Bernard Zuel (The SMH).

The AMP shortlisted albums included:

Flume – Flume
Tame Impala – Lonerism
The Presets – Pacifica
Grand Salvo – Slay Me in My Sleep
Jess Ribeirio & The Bone Collectors – My Little River
Liz Stringer – Warm in the Darkness
Daily Meds – Happy Daze
Hermitude – Hyper-Paradise
Urthboy – Smokey’s Haunt
Fore more information on The AMPs head HERE.