Top 30 Shortlist for the 2013 APRA Song of the Year Award Revealed - MusicNSW

The Top 30 Shortlist for the 2013 APRA Song of the Year Award has now been released!

“The Top 30 shortlist for the 2013 APRA Song of the Year Award is impressive and illustrates the breadth of talent in this country across the genre spectrum,” said APRA CEO Brett Cottle. “It’s a fantastic list of songwriters that includes up-and-comers like Flume who’s now selling out stadiums, hip hop champion 360 and countty music stalwarts like Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson.

“Congratulations to all our members who have made the shortlist. It’s the largest peer-voted music award in Australia – all nominations are provided by APRA’s songwriter, composer and music publisher members and APRA members get to vote on the final recipient, so it’s a real honour to make the shortlist and to be named as the final recipient of the Award. I wish all our nominees well as the voting process commences in earnest.”

The shortlisted artists are:

APRA Song of the Year: Top 30 list of nominations 

Adam and Eve (Written and performed by Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson)

Bad Reality (Written by Amy, Hannah, Sarah and Holly Findlay. Performed by Stonefield)

Beautiful Liar (Written and performed by Lyn Bowtell)

Bird on the Buffalo (Written and performed by Angus Stone)

Child (Written by Matthew Colwell and Kaelyn Behr. Performed by 360)

Clair de Lune (Written by Hugo Gruzman and James Lyell. Performed by Flight Facilities)

Diamonds (Written by Sia Furler, Benjamin Levin, Mikkel Eriksen and Tor Hermansen. Performed by Rihanna)

Drover’s Wife (Written by Luke O’Shea and Peter Gabrielides. Performed by Luke O’Shea)

Easy Way Out (Written by Wally De Backer. Performed by Gotye)

Elephant (Written by Kevin Parker and Jay Watson. Performed by Tame Impala)

Everyone’s Waiting (Written by Missy Higgins and Daniel Wilson. Performed by Missy Higgins)

Feels Like We Only Go Backwards (Written by Kevin Parker. Performed by Tame Impala)

Follow the Sun (Written and performed by Xavier Rudd)

Get Along (Written by Guy Sebastian and Ian Barter. Performed by Guy Sebastian)

History Eraser (Written and performed by Courtney Barnett)

Holding On (Written by Flume and O. Redding. Performed by Flume)

Home (Written and performed by Troy Cassar-Daley)

I Got Burned (Written by Lance Ferguson. Performed by The Bamboos)

My Gun (Written by Scott Baldwin, Izaac, Samuel and Elliott Margin and David Kahne. Performed by The Rubens)

Passerby (Written by Patrick Davern and Phil Jamieson. Performed by Grinspoon)

Save Me (Written by Wally De Backer. Performed by Gotye)

Set Me On Fire (Written by Missy Higgins, Butterfly Boucher and Daniel Wilson Performed by Missy Higgins)

The Quiet Life (Written and performed by Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson)

This Fire (Written by Adam Spark, Adam Weston, Ian Kenny, Glenn Sarangapany and Ian Berney. Performed by Birds of Tokyo)

Trembling Hands (Written by Tobias Dundas, Joseph Greer, Abby Mandagi and Lorenzo Sillitto. Performed by Temper Trap)

When The Moment Comes (Written by Mia Dyson, Erin Sidney and Patrick Cupples. Performed by Mia Dyson)

Wish You Were Here (Written by Delta Goodrem and Gary Clark. Performed by Delta Goodrem)

You Make Me Happy (Written by Clare Bowditch and Eddie Perfect. Performed by Clare Bowditch featuring Eddie Perfect)

Your Love (Written by Daniel McGorry. Performed by Saskwatch)

Youth in Trouble (Written by Julian Hamilton and Kim Moyes. Performed by The Presets)