National Indigenous Music Awards Winners Announced - MusicNSW

Last weekend National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMAs) were held at the Darwin Botanic Gardens, and the winners have been revealed!

National Artist of the Year went to Jessica Mauboy, who will be moving to LA shortly to kickstart her career in the US market. Queensland’s Thelma Plum took out New Talent of the Year, Darwin-based Shellie Morris received the G.R. Burarrawanga Memorial Award for NT artists, and also took with her Song of the Year for Waliwaliyangu li-Anthawirriyarra a-Kurija (Saltwater People Song) with the Borroloola Songwomen.

Archie Roach’s album Into The Bloodstream took out National Album of the Year and Cover Art of the Year and the clip for Song To Sing,  took out Film Clip of the Year.

Archie Roach was also inducted into the NIMA Hall of Fame alongside Henry ‘Seaman’ Dan and Wirrinyga Band from Milingimbi, NT and Gurrumul Yunupingu was presented with the Special Recognition award.

“This year’s awards truly demonstrate the great strides that Indigenous music has made across the country and reflect the growing success of Indigenous musicians, says Mark Smith, GM of organizer MusicNT. “Celebrating ten years this year and in the third year of being a national event the NIMA’s have arrived as the premier Indigenous music awards.”

If you would like to view the awards ceremony, the NIMAs will be broadcast on NITV on Saturday August 17 at 8.30pm.