CBAA Award Finalists Announced - MusicNSW

The CBAA is proud has revealed the finalists for the 2013 CBAA Awards.

The CBAA Awards are designed to promote excellence and to encourage and assist community broadcasters. They acknowledge the accomplishments of stations in their programs, initiatives or practices that increase their station’s capabilities or improve the services offered to their community.

The 2013 Finalists include:

Excellence in Community Participation

3NOW – Jump Start
Mitchell Community Radio – Young Presenters Quest
5THE FM – Save Our Hospital Services
2MFM – Muslim Community Radio – Participation in Programming and Operations at Muslim Community Radio

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution

3WBC 94.1FM – Viarnne Mischon
PBS 106.7FM – Acid Country David Heard
4EB – Irene Tavutavu
Highland FM 2WKT – Country Cheer, Billy Jo Cheers

Best Digital Media Initiative

3MBS – Pauline Oliveros at 80
QRAM – Black Star Network
PBA FM Adelaide – Living Outback
FBi Radio – Radio with Pictures

Excellence in Training

SYN Media – Schools on Air
5THE FM – Rebekah Lowe
2NSB FM99.3 – 2NSB Training Initiative

Best New Radio Program – Talks

6NME – Noongar Radio – The State of Ear Health in My Community
JOY 94.9 – The Vixen Hour
4EB – Fair Comment
Zed Digital – 4ZZZ – Elements
8CCC – Centralian Yarns

Best New Radio Program – Music

3MBS (on behalf of Fine Music Network) – Countdown to the Ring
Phoenix FM – The War Movies
Zed Digital – 4ZZZ – Live Delay
2SER – Spin the Black Circle
3WBC – Music Matters

Contribution to Australian Music

2NVR – Nambucca Valley Radio – Studio 3 Live
RTRFM 92.1 – In The Pines 2013 – 20th Anniversary
3MDR – Mountain District Radio – A Mountain of Sound
Radio Adelaide – Local Noise

Contribution to Indigenous Broadcasting

2NCR – River FM 92.9 – National Indigenous Ear Health Campaign
Koori Radio 93.7FM – NgAllowah Murrytoola
3CR – Beyond the Bars

Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting

2MFM – Muslim Community Radio – Burial Crisis Project
3ZZZ – Student Xpress-Housing
Highland FM 107.1 – Hallo Deutchland
Edge Radio 99.3FM – Strings of Bollywood

Excellence in Music Programming

Triple R FM 102.7 Melbourne – Kinky Afro
4ZZZ – The New Releases Show
CAAMA Radio 8KIN FM -CAAMA Aboriginal Music Content
FBi Radio – Ears Have Ears

Excellence in Spoken Word, News and Current Affairs Programming

6NME – Noongar Radio – The State of Ear Health in My Community
FBi Radio – All The Best
JOY 94.9 – Word for Word – Mothers Day Special
2SER – Radio Atticus
CAAMA Radio 8KIN FM – Women’s Business
Triple R FM 102.7 – Spoke

Outstanding Youth Contribution

Harvey Community Radio 96.5FM – Corrine Brislin
2NSB FM99.3 – Dylan Finch
3CR – Areej Nur
Mitchell Community Radio – Llewellyn Perrott

Best Station Production

105.5 RoxFM – Karaoke @ The Club
105.5 FoxFM – Outback Tracks Intro
Fresh 92.7 – Fresh Race Day
Fine Music 102.5 – SIMA Jazz Festival Promo
CAAMA Radio 8KIN FM – Strong Voices Theme 2013

Best Station Promotion, Sponsorship or Fundraising Campaign

SYN Media – Pay For Your SYNs
RTRFM 92.1 – RTRFM 2013 Donor Drive
3MBS Fine Music Melbourne – 3MBS Beethoven Marathon
Fresh 92.7 – Fresh 92.7 15th Birthday Bash

Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming

3CR – What’s The Score $port?
JOY 94.9 – The Locker Room
Koori Radio 93.7FM – Black Gold
SYN Media – The Sports Desk
6NME – Noongar Radio – The Smash Crew

Most Innovative Outside Broadcast or Special Event Broadcast

3MBS Fine Music Melbourne – 3MBS Beethoven Marathon
PBS 106.7FM – Fathers Day Broadcast, Port Phillip Prison
6NME – Noongar Radio – Djin Djin Karnam Koort, Acacia Prison
Triple R FM 102.7 Melbourne – The Architects Live From The Venice Biennale

The Outstanding Small Station Award

TYGA FM – New Norfolk, TAS
2NVR – Nambucca Valley Radio – Bowraville, NSW
8CCC – Alice Springs, NT
Radio Skid Row 88.9FM – Marrickville, NSW

Excellence in Technical / IT Services

TYGA FM – The TYGA Tech Team
Radio Northern Beaches – Andrew Goodman-Jones, Technical Director

The CBAA Awards will be presented at the Conference Gala Dinner, Saturday 16 November. Tickets are available here.