MusicNSW’s independent and innovative festival project Sound Summit is pleased to announce the full conference program and performance schedule for the festival’s 2013 debut in Sydney from Thursday 7th November – Sunday 10th November.

Following on from the huge full live music program released last month, this current announcement comprises Q&As, idea-driven panels on current local and global music issues, practical guides for artists to get their music heard and legally protected, plus a series of workshops giving participants the opportunity to walk away with their own hand-built pedal or the know-how to master a modular synth. Panels will take place at Soundworks Studios, Marrickville and workshops at Monster Mouse, Marrickville on Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th. The conference aspect of Sound Summit reaffirms the festival’s ongoing commitment to programming not just quality music, but providing a dynamic and supportive platform for the exchange of ideas to inspire and ignite the Australian music climate going forward.

We’re also happy to announce that after many years of collaboration in Newcastle, Electrofringe will partner with Sound Summit again for the 2013 festival! Electrofringe will work with a number of Sydney artists and electronic art collectives to take over festival venues including the Marrickville Bowling Club and Red Ratter. Light sculptures, projections, interactive and new media artworks will collide in a fascinating spectacle, turning Sound Summit into a visual as well as sonic sensory feast.

Speakers at the 2013 Sound Summit Music Conference include:

Markus Popp (Oval)  · Paris Groovescooter (2SER) · Emma Ramsey (Holy Balm) · Steven Warwick (Heatsick) · Sean Campion (Multiple Man) · Andy Webb (Resident Advisor) · Gareth Psaltis (Hunter-Gatherer) · Kirsty Brown (MusicNSW) · Craig Lyons (SLAM NSW) · Scarlett Di Maio (Dirty Shirlows) · Janine Marshman (Red Rattler Theatre) · Arts Law Centre of Australia · Chris Zajko (MusicNSW) · Greg Morrow (APRA) · Greg Carey (Umbrella Music) · Andrew Cowie (Angel Eyes) · Kevin Boyer (Tyvek) · Shaun Prescott (Crawlspace) · Nicola Morton (Musicologist, Real Bad Music) · Matthew Hopkins (Half High) · Owen Penglis (Straight Arrows) · Cody GT (EquinoxOz) · Andrew McLellan (4ZZZ) · Brooke Olsen (FBi Radio) · Jess Scully (2SER) · Joe Davies-Griffith (Royal Headache) · Sarah Spencer (Blank Realm) · Tom Smith (Thomas William) · Jessie Hunt (Wollongong Live Music Task Force)

These speakers will be featured across the following panels:

– Markus Popp (OVAL) “In Conversation’ with 2SER

– The Rebirth of Contemporary Independent Electronic Music Culture

– Budgeting for the Arts: Your Guide to Negotiating the Red Tape of Live Music and Arts Funding

– Arts Law Centre of Australia: How the Law Can Help Not Hinder Your Creative Practice

– Music 101: Pushing Your Music From the Bedroom to the Public

– Aiming To Stay An Outsider: The Continual Evolution of Independent Music Culture

– Finding the Balance: Work and Music or Music as Work?

– Radio Reality: The Past, Present & Future

Workshops include:

– Electrofringe Presents a hands on circuit-bending workshop, giving you the chance to learn new skills and leave with your own hand made DIY electronic instrument.

– EquinoxOz Presents: Modular synthesizers – What are they? How do they work?

What’s more, we’ve added a new act to the festival opening night on Thursday 8th. Ren Schofield aka Container (USA) will be performing a very special and exclusive experimental set under the moniker GOD WILLING (USA).

Both individual day and full festival pass tickets are now on sale via the links below. The full performance timetable is also now available and can be viewed on


THURSDAY 7th November:

FRIDAY 8th November:

SATURDAY 9th November:

SUNDAY 10th November: