The Amp Increase Number Of Women On This Year’s Judging Panel - MusicNSW

The Coopers Australian Music Prize has boosted the number of women on this year’s judging panel. The competition’s panel has previously been criticised for a gender imbalance.

First reported in the Herald Sun‘s Rock City column, Prize Director Scott B. Murphy has confirmed to that despite veteran judge Renee Geyer taking a year absence, new judges joining the fold include journalist Sarah Smith, The Music‘s Bryget Chrisfield, musician Jen Cloher and another yet-to-be-announced judge, while Jet Black Cat Music’s Shannon Logan is making her return, having helped judge last year’s competition.

Melbourne duo Big Scary were the most recent act to take out the Coopers Amp. Other past acts include Hermitude, The Jezabels, Cloud Control, Lisa Mitchell, Eddy Current Suppression Ring, The Mess Hall, Augie March and inaugural winners The Drones.

The Coopers Amp Facebook page has revealed that acts Teeth & Tongue, East Brunswick Girls Choir and the world-beating DZ Deathrays have already been long-listed for this year’s prize.

Check out Coopers Amp homepage for more information.

Written by Erica Whyman.