Winners Announced for Northern Territory Song Of the Year - MusicNSW

Il-Anthawirriyarra a-Kurija (Saltwater People Song) by Shellie Morris and The Borroloola Songwomen took two awards at the 2014 Northern Territory Song of the Year awards. It won the major NT Song of the Year as well as the Folk category.

The awards were held on Saturday, 28 June for the third time at the Museum and Art Gallery of the NT in Darwin. 340 entries were attracted, according to organiser MusicNT.

Morris’ was presented with a cultural advancement going at the Deadlys and won the 2013 National Indigenous Music Awards Song of the Year. The Borroloola Songwomen project saw Morris, who was adopted out as a child and grew up in Sydney, reconnect with eleven of her tribal elders

Other winners included This Moment by Enth Degree (electronic & dance), Troubadour by Gareth Dawkins featuring Colin Lillie (blues & roots), Last Night’s Clothes by David Garnham, Dave Crowe and Toby Robinson (country), Pestilence by Miazma (heavy), A Feather To The Sea by Syren (pop), I Want You To Know by Skarlett (rock) In the Endby My Team Dilemma (urban & hip hop) and Going Nowhere by Michael Lindsey (school aged).

Voting is still open for the People’s Choice Award, with all 45 finalists in the running for the award.

Written by Erica Whyman.