CONTROL reveals successful applicants - MusicNSW

Successful applicants for the professional development programme CONTROL: The Business of Music Management have been revealed. Fifteen music managers have been selected to participate in the six month programme; twelve from Australia and for the first time, three from New Zealand.

Six music managers from New South Wales will take part in the programme: Jess Beston, Stefan Emslie, Clara Iaccarino,  Dave MacGregor, Monique Rothstein and Matty Woo. Joining them will be three music managers from New Zealand: Cushla Aston, Scott Grafton and Ninakaye Taane-Tinorau, Victorians Alistair Burns and Nick Lynagh will also take part, as will Jane Slingo and Josh Taylor Anderson from Queensland. The remaining places in the programme will be taken by Daisy Brown from South Australia and Bel Skinner from Broome in Western Australia.

“This is an impressive line-up of music managers representing artists from across Australia and New Zealand,” said Denise Foley, Chair of the Australian Music Industry Network (AMIN). “CONTROL keeps going from strength to strength. We’re delighted that our peers from New Zealand will be joining us this year.”

 “We’re very excited to launch this new trans-­Tasman version of CONTROL added Cath Andersen, CEO of the New Zealand Music Commission, “We joined forces for the first time last year on RELEASE, a professional development program for independent record labels. That experince makes me confident that some excellent new co-ventures will come out of CONTROL.”

Mentors in the programme will include leading music managers Terry McBride from Canada, Paul McKessar from New Zealand, and Australia’s Correne Wilkie. CONTROL incorporates two residential workshops. The first will be held in Terrigal near Sydney in late November, the second at the end of the program in 2015.

The program is presented by the Australian Music Industry Network (AMIN), and supported by Music Managers Forum of New Zealand (MMF NZ) and the Australian Association of Artist Managers (AAM). Funding has been provided by the Australian Government and the New Zealand Music Commission.