2015 Jazz Bell Awards Nominees Revealed - MusicNSW

Nominees for the annual Jazz Bell Awards have been announced for all seven award categories, celebrating Australia’s best talent in the jazz world.

The Awards will take place in Melbourne’s grand Regent Theatre Ballroom on Thursday, 30 April, and will be hosted by journalist and television presenter, Helen Kapalos.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Best Australian Jazz Vocal Album

Josh Kyle & Sam Keevers — Songs Of Friends

Tom Barton — Aspirations

Sarah McKenzie — We Could Be Lovers

best australian modern jazz album

Paul Grabowsky — The Bitter Suite

Daniel Susnjar — Su Su Nje

James Mustafa Jazz Orchestra — The Last Sanctuary

Best Australian Contemporary ‘avant-garde’ Jazz Album

Monash Art Ensemble: George — Hexis

Barney McAll/Trio Feral: Trio Feral — Don’t Feed

Paul Van Ross — My Cuban Soul

best australian traditional jazz album

James Morrison — A-Z Of Jazz

The Hunter & Pointers — The Hunters & Pointers

Geoff Bull — Clarence Williams Tribute

Best Jazz Song of the Year

Paul Grabowsky — Black Saffron

Penelope Sai — Some Kind Of Dream

Daniel Susnjar — Forte Pulse Torte

best australian jazz ensemble

Mike Nock Octet — Suite Sima

Daniel Susnjar — Su Su Nje

Daryl McKenzie Orchestra — Return Journey

Young Jazz Artist of the Year

James Mustafa Jazz Orchestra — The Last Sanctuary

Nic Vardanega — Inverno

Jessica Carlton — Not Alone

More info can be found here.

Photo is of 2015 nominee Daniel Susnjar.