PPCA & Australia Council Recording Grant Recipients Announced - MusicNSW

The PPCA and the Australia Council have announced the recipients of five recording grants offered under a joint initiative between the two organisations.

Five grants of $15,000 were offered to assist Australian artists creating new sound recordings.  

Minister for the Arts, Senator Brandis welcomed this valuable partnership to support musicians.

“The Australian Government strongly supports partnerships such as this one between the Australia Council and the PPCA which contribute to Australia’s reputation for artistic excellence on the world stage. I wish the artists every success,” Senator Brandis said.

PPCA Chief Executive Officer, Dan Rosen, said:  “We are extremely pleased to have been able to partner with the Australia Council for a second successive year to give local artists an opportunity to create and record their music. The range and number of applicants under the program has been extraordinary and on behalf of PPCA I would like to congratulate all of the artists who were successful in securing grant funding.”

“We wish all the recipients the very best with their recordings and we look forward to hearing the result as they emerge. I would like to thank the Australia Council for their ongoing assistance and look forward to our continuing partnership.”

“These grants represent our shared ambition to support outstanding artists realise their creative potential, and I’m pleased to see musicians from a range of genres have been successful,” Australia Council Chief Executive Officer, Tony Grybowski said.

The recipients include: 

Singer-songwriter and guitarist Mia Dyson to record and release three EPs over 12 months.  Each EP will be recorded in a different city with a different producer (Joe Pisapia, Erin “Syd” Sidney and Ben Tolliday).

Alex Masso with Sydney-based jazz group The Vampires will record their fifth album featuring collaborations with West African-born and US-based guitarist/vocalist Lionel Loueke and produced by bassist Lloyd Swanton (The Necks).

Genevieve Campbell will create a body of new work based on traditional Tiwi songs featuring collaborator Teresita Puruntatameri.

Luke Howard will record his second solo album of contemporary chamber music featuring collaborators Daniel Farrugia, Leonard Grigoryan and Ryan Monro.

The Growl to record their third full-length album in Los Angeles.

The PPCA represents Australian recording artists when their music is in the public domain.  Last year they distributed $33 million to its registered artists and record labels. 

Registration for Australian artists is free. Go to www.ppca.com.au for further information.