2008 AIR AWARDS Nominees Announced - MusicNSW

The Australian Independent Record Labels Association has announced the nominees for the 2008 Jagermeister AIR awards. The 2008 AIR Awards ceremony will be held at The Corner Hotel in Melbourne on Monday 24th November.

Best Australian Independent Artist

The Waifs (Jarrah Records/MGM)
Ricki-Lee (Public Opinion/Shock)
The Getaway Plan (Boomtown Records/Shock)
Lior (Sensico Unico/MGM)
The Herd (Elefant Traks/Inertia)
Birds of Tokyo (Independent/MGM)

Best Australian Independent Album

Lior – Corner Of An Endless Road (Sensico Unico/MGM)
Little Red – Listen to Little Red (Hooch Hound Records/Shock)
British India – Thieves (Flashpoint Records/Shock)
Sneaky Sound System – 2 (Whack Records/MGM)
Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunipingu – Gurrumul (Skinnyfish Music/MGM)

Best Australian Independent Single/EP

Stealing O’Neal – Collidescope (BNM Records/Shock)
Wolf & Cub – One To The Other (Dot Dash/Inertia)
Sneaky Sound System – Kansas City (Whack Records/MGM)
The Getaway Plan – Where The City Meets The Sea (Boomtown Records/Shock)
Grafton Primary – Relativity (Sonic Constructions/MGM)
Ricki-Lee – Can’t Sing A Different Song (Public Opinion/Shock)

Best New Australian Independent Artist

Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu (Skinnyfish Music/MGM)
Drapht (Obese Records)
Little Red (Hooch Hound Records/Shock)
Abbe May (Independent/MGM)
A-Love (Crookneck Records/Shogun)

Best Australian Independent Hard Rock/Punk Album

Birds Of Tokyo – Universes (Independent/MGM)
The Getaway Plan – Other Voices, Other Rooms (Boomtown Records/Shock)
Magic Dirt – Girl (Emergency Music/MGM)
Eddy Current Suppression Ring – Primary Colours (Aarght Records/Shock)
Horsell Common – The Rescue (Boomtown Records/Shock)

Best Australian Independent Hip Hop Album

Muph and Plutonic – .And Then Tomorrow Came (Obese Records)
Katalyst – Whats Happening (Invada/Inertia)
Resin Dogs – More? (Hydrofunk Records/MGM)
A-Love – Ace Of Hearts (Crookneck Records/Shogun)
The Herd – Summerland (Elefant Traks/Inertia)

Best Australian Independent Country Album

Noll Brothers – A Country Heart (Emporium Records/Shock)
The Flood – Everybody’s Favourite (Independent/One Stop Entertainment)
Davidson Brothers – Davidson Brothers (Independent/Shock)
Felicity Urquhart – My Life (Independent/Shock)
Bec Willis – Bec Willis (Independent/Shock)

Best Australian Independent Dance/Electronica Album

Grafton Primary – Relativity (Sonic Constructions/MGM)
Meem – The Bumpy Ep (Non Label/Creative Vibes)
Peret Mako – The Devil Is In The Detail (Future Classic/Inertia)
Jamie Lloyd – More Trouble (Future Classic/Inertia)
Theatre Of Disco – Theatre Of Disco (Future Classic/Inertia)

Best Australian Independent Blues/Roots Album

Gin Club – Junk (Plus One Records/Shock)
The Waifs -Sun Dirt Water (Jarrah Records/MGM)
Lior – Corner Of An Endless Road (Sensico Unico/MGM)
Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu – Gurrumul (Skinnyfish Music/MGM)
John Butler – One Step (Jarrah Records/MGM)

Best Australian Independent Jazz Album

Gest8 – Koleidoscope (Independent/Tall Poppies)
Matt McMahon & Guy Strazz – 2@1 (Birdland/Creative Vibes)
Mike Nock Project – Meeting Of The Waters (Jazzhead/MGM)
Oehlers/Grabowsky/Beck – Lost and Found (Jazzhead/MGM)
Tina Harrod – Work Songs (Independent/Vitamin)