Applications for the 2013 APRA Professional Development Awards have now opened. The awards aim to provide financial assistant to artists who have been working on on building their music careerrs, but need some financial backing in order oto take the next step. Most recently recipients of the PDA’s have been Australian acts such as Gotye. Abbe May and Laura Jean, plus film score composers Caitlin Yeo and Sean Foran.

$240, 000 will be allocated across eight winners in 2013, equating to $30, 000 per winning applicant which will assist them in their airfares, publicity packages, mentoring opportunities, distribution deals, instruments, and any other expenses associated with building their career as an Australian musician in the creative industry.

The eight award categories will include three for Popular Contemporary (which covers pop, rock, blues, folk, hip hop, dance and R & B), one each for jazz, country, classical, film and television and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander.

Applications for the PDA’s close Friday 11 January. To apply or for more information head here.