Inaugural AU Review Awards - MusicNSW

The AU Review, in collaboration with their parent company Health Media have announced the 1st Annual AU Awards to celebrate the best in live music in the country.

The AU Review awards will take into account LIVE merit, rather than recordings, and artists must have performed within Australia between 1 November 2013 and 31 October 2014 to be considered for the awards. For Festivals/Tours, the date range is the same.

Larry Heath, Founder and Editor-in-Chief of the AU review, said of the awards, “We’ve been wanting to kick off these awards for years now, and with the launch of our new book and radio station, it seemed like the perfect time. More than anything, the AU is about celebrating live Australian music – so for our awards, it only makes sense that this tradition follows through. I feel like we’ve tapped an incredible cross section of the local music industry with these nominations and we wish all the bands and artists the best of luck! We hope it incites debate and more than anything, we hope it reminds you to get out there and support live Australian music…”

The winners will be announced in Sydney on 9th December. All winners will also be published in Australia’s Year in Music: 2014 Edition.

2014 Nominees

AU Live Act of the Year 

Violent Soho

The Preatures


The Smith Street Band


AU Voice of the Year 

Isabella Manfredi (The Preatures)

Hayley Mary (The Jezabels)

Chet Faker

Karina Utomo (High Tension)

Nkechi Anele (Saskwatch)

AU Heatseeker Award 

Rising Stars, Live Acts to Watch!

Little May

Holy Holy



Tired Lion

AU Hip-Hop Live Act of the Year 



One Day

L-Fresh The Lion


AU DJ/Electronic Artist of the Year 






AU Drummer of the Year 

Dan Williams (Art vs Science / The Philly Jays / East)

Tim Adderley (sleepmakeswaves)

Kram (Spiderbait)

Michael Richards (Violent Soho)

Lachlan West (The Griswolds)

AU Guitarist of the Year 

Ash Grunwald

Alex Laska (Kingswood)

Gideon Bensen (The Preatures)

Courtney Barnett

Otto Wicks-Green (sleepmakeswaves)

AU Bass Guitarist of the Year 

Janet English (Spiderbait)

Steph Ashworth (Something For Kate)

Luke Henery (Violent Soho)

Alex Wilson (sleepmakeswaves)

Jennifer Boyce (Ball Park Music)

AU Instrumentalist of the Year 

Heidi Lenffer (Keys, Cloud Control)

Xani Kolac (Violin, The Twoks)

Brendan Champion (Trombone, Lime Cordiale)

Paul Furness (Keys/Trombone, Ball Park Music)

Heather Shannon (Keys, The Jezabels)

AU Tour of the Year (Australian) 

Note: Award will be presented to both the band and touring company, where applicable.

Violent Soho with The Smith Street Band / Luca Brasi (July 2014)

Sticky Fingers “Land of Pleasure” Album Tour (September 2014)

The Smith Street Band & The Menzingers With Grim Fandango (March 2014)

Chet Faker “Built On Glass” Album Tour with Yumi Zouma (June/July 2014)

Courtney Barnett + D.D Dumbo. (September/October 2014)

AU Tour of the Year (International) 

Note: Award will be presented to Touring Company.

Neutral Milk Hotel / M Ward / Superchunk (Soundwave Touring, November 2013)

Arctic Monkeys (Frontier Touring, May 2014)

City and Colour (Chugg Entertainment, Nov/Dec 2013)

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band (Frontier Touring, February 2014)

Queens of the Stone Age / Nine Inch Nails (Frontier Touring, March 2014)

AU Festival of the Year (Touring) 

Laneway Festival

Soundwave Festival

Listen Out

The Blurst of Times

Falls Festival / Southbound

AU Festival of the Year (Non-Touring) 

Byron Bay Bluesfest


Mona Foma


Splendour in the Grass

NSW Band/Artist of the Year

The Preatures

Steve Smyth

Sticky Fingers

Little Bastard

One Day

NSW Voice of the Year

Steve Smyth

Isabella Manfredi (The Preatures)

Iluka (Nikki Thornburn)

Hayley (The Jezabels)

Andy Bull

NSW Venue of the Year

Brighton Up Bar

Oxford Art Factory

The Newsagency

Sydney Opera House

Metro Theatre

VIC Band/Artist of the Year

Courtney Barnett

The Peep Tempel



King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard

VIC Voice of the Year

Courtney Barnett

Dan Sultan


Henry Wagons

Ella Hooper

VIC Venue of the Year

The Corner Hotel

Ding Dong Lounge


The Forum Theatre

Northcote Social Club

SA Band/Artist of the Year



West Thebarton Brothel Party

Horror My Friend

Glass Skies

SA Voice of the Year

Anna Bouras (The Villenettes)

Joshua Calligeros (Sincerely, Grizzly)

Rachel Cearns (Valkyries)

Chris Panousakis (Timberwolf)

Tkay Maidza

SA Venue of the Year

The Gov


Rocket Bar & Rooftop

Thebarton Theatre

Tenth & Gibson

QLD Band/Artist of the Year

DZ Deathrays

Violent Soho


Dead Letter Circus

Ball Park Music

QLD Voice of the Year

Jordan Rakei

Jeremy Neale (Velociraptor)

Thelma Plum

Kate Miller-Heidke

Hannah Shepherd (Airling)

QLD Venue of the Year

Black Bear Lodge


The Brightside

The Tivoli

The Zoo

WA Band/Artist of the Year

The Brow

The Love Junkies

Our Man in Berlin


Timothy Nelson and the Infidels

WA Voice of the Year

Timothy Nelson

Sophie Hopes (Tired Lion)

Abbe May

Felicity Groom

Haydn Mansell (Our Man in Berlin)

WA Venue of the Year

The Bakery



The Ellington Jazz Club

Perth Arena

People’s Choice Award Nominees:

Ball Park Music



One Day




Sticky Fingers

The Griswolds

The Love Junkies

The Smith Street Band

Violent Soho