Air Awards Winners Announced - MusicNSW

On Monday evening (24/11/08), a jam packed corner hotel in Melbourne to celebrate independent music in Australia. The Herd took out the highly coveted Best Independent Artist award, which rounded up nicely their 10th anniversay the weekend before.

Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu took out the Best Independent Album and Best New Independent Artist heralding his turbulant rise as a solo artist.

A full like of the winners are available below, for more information on the night including Martha Wainwright from Canada and her performance with The Drones head to the Air Awards website.

Best Independent Artist
The Herd (Elefant Traks/Inertia)

Best Independent Album
Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu – Gurrumul (Skinnyfish Music/MGM)

Best Independent Single/EP
The Getaway Plan – Where the City Meets The Sea (Boomtown Records/Shock)

Best New Independent Artist
Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu (Skinnyfish Music/MGM)

Best Independent Hard Rock/Punk Album
Eddy Current Suppression Ring – Primary Colours (Aarght Records/Shock)

Best Independent Urban/Hip Hop Album
The Herd – Summerland (Elefant Traks/Inertia)

Best Independent Country Album
Bec Willis – Bec Willis (Independent/Shock)

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album
Peret Mako – The Devil is in the Detail (Future Classic/Inertia)

Best Australian Independent Blues/Roots Album
Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu – Gurrumul (Skinnyfish Music/MGM)

Best Australian Independent Jazz Album
Tina Harrod – Worksongs (Independent/Vitamin)