2013 APRA Music Award Winners Have Been Announced! - MusicNSW

The Australian Performing Right Association has announced the winners of the 2013 Music Awards. The awards were held at the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre.

The coveted APRA Song of the Year Category went to Kevin Park, the leader of the band Tame Impala. They had two nominations in this important category and the winning song ended up being ‘Feels Like We Only Go Backwards’ which is the second single from the album Lonerism.

The APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors has named world famous SIA as the Songwriter of the year. SIA has collaborated with numerous artists around the word including David Guetta, Hilltop Hoods, Rihanna, Flo Rida and Christina Aguilera.

The Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year award goes to Matthew Colwell of 360 and Kaelyn Behr of Styalz Fuego. The recipients of this award were decided by the APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors. Timomatic co-Writers and Anthony Egizii and David Musumeci have received Most Played Australian Work and Pop Category of the Year.

‘In My Mind’ creation of Aden Forte and Joshua Soon took home the Dance Work of the Year award. The Rubens along with co-writer and producer David Kahne have claimed their first ever APRA Music Award with winning the Rock Work of the Year for their song, ‘My Gun.’

Urban Work of the Year went to Hilltop Hoods songwriters, Barry Francis, Matthew Lambert and Daniel Smith for ‘I Love It.’ This was also their co-writer SIA’s second award of the evening.

The McClymonts have received the award for Country Work of the Year for the song ‘Piece of Me’ that was co-written by Samantha McClymont, Frank Myers and Lindsay Rimes.

Ash Grunwald and co-writer, Colin O’Reilly took home the award for Blues & Roots Work of the Year category with the first single from the album Trouble’s Door.

The category of Most Performed Australian Work Overseas went to Wally De Backer and Luiz Bonfa for the song, ‘Somebody That I Used to Know.’ They were also the recipients of the 2012 APRA Song of the Year and 2012 APRA Songwriter of the Year.

The smash hit, ‘Call Me Maybe’ has won the International Work of the Year award for its writers Carly Rae Jepsen, and band-mates Tavish Crowe and Joshua Ramsey.

Lastly, Bert Newton presented The Seekers with the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music which was determined by the APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors.

The APRA music awards were held on Monday June 17 and were hosted by Jonathan Biggins and Clare Bowditch.