APRA 2014 Songwriter Of The Year Award Goes to Sia - MusicNSW

Sia leads the list of winners in this year’s APRA Music Awards, making history as the first artist to win the coveted Songwriter Of The year award two years running.

Adelaide artist Sia, real name Sia Furler, has a hot 2013-2014 songwriting resume in line with hits from some of the biggest names in pop music, such as Jennifer Lopez, Beyone, Katy Perry, and Rihanna

The glorious annual marquee event took place in Brisbane 23 June, celebrating Australian songwriting and publishing.  APRA AMCOS announced winners, who also included Vance Joy and Lorde.

Other notable award winners include Louis Schoorl, who was named Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year, the song Lanterns by rock group Birds of Tokyo, and the songwritng collaboration between Bliss n Eso and Bluejuice (with co-writer Alexander Burnett) titled Act your Age. Vance Joy was also peer-voted APRA Song of the Year award for his folk pop hit Riptide.

A full list of winners from the 2014 APRA Music Awards can be seen here, alongside a number of event’s acceptance videos.

Written by MusicNSW Intern Erica Whyman.